Best Europe Tour Companies Compared: Which Operator Fits Your Two Week Trip

Choosing the right tour company is the last big decision before a four-figure booking. Across the 21 multi-country Europe packages on this site, twelve different operators run these trips, each with its own contract terms, age policies, and daily rhythm. This comparison walks through the differences that matter most: insurance requirements, passport rules, group dynamics, and what your money actually buys.

A traveler studies a map of Europe with several tour brochures spread on a table

Short answer

Expat Explore operates the most tours on this site and suits budget-conscious travellers who want a packed itinerary. Intrepid and G Adventures run smaller groups with mandatory insurance and stricter passport rules. Contiki is the only operator with a contractual 18-35 age band and does not require travel insurance. Your best fit depends on whether you prioritise price, group size, or age range.

A coach parked in a European square with passengers boarding

What Should You Look For When Comparing Europe Tour Companies?

The four factors that separate Europe tour operators are insurance requirements, age policies, passport validity rules, and daily pace. Some operators mandate insurance, one restricts travellers to ages 18-35, and passport rules can be stricter than Schengen law. These differences sit in the operators' own booking conditions and directly affect who can travel and what happens if something goes wrong.

Across the 21 packages on this site, twelve operators appear. Four of them publish enough verifiable detail in their booking conditions to make a direct comparison possible: Expat Explore, Intrepid, G Adventures, and Contiki. The other eight, including Trafalgar, Globus, and Balkan and more, simply do not state an insurance requirement, an age band, or a passport validity number in any source this site has verified. That does not make them worse operators, but it does mean a traveller who wants a clear contract before they book will find more certainty with the four that do.

Operator Insurance Required? Age Policy Passport Rule Cancellation Policy
Expat Explore Yes, a condition of booking; proof before day one No published age band No operator-specific rule; traveller's own duty On the operator's listing
Intrepid Yes, mandatory; minimum US$200,000 cover; proof on day one No single figure; offers an "18 to 35s" themed range 6 months after last travel date On the operator's listing
G Adventures Yes, mandatory; minimum US$200,000 emergency evacuation cover; proof on day one No published age band No operator-specific rule stated in the booking FAQ On the operator's listing
Contiki No, highly recommended but not required Contractual 18-35 age band; some trips have narrower bands 6 months after trip return date; machine-readable passport required On the operator's listing

The insurance column is the sharpest dividing line. Expat Explore's terms make adequate travel insurance a condition of booking, and the traveller must produce proof before the tour starts. Intrepid and G Adventures both require it on day one, with a stated minimum of US$200,000 for emergency evacuation and repatriation. Contiki, by contrast, only recommends it. All four regional Contiki booking conditions PDFs dated August 2026 carry the identical wording: travel insurance is "highly recommended" but not required. That distinction matters if a traveller wants to book without buying a policy first.

Age is the other hard filter. Contiki is the only operator on this site whose age band is contractual. Its booking conditions state that all worldwide trips are designed for a particular age group, and the core range is 18 to 35, with some trips restricted further to 18-22, 27-35, or 35-45. A traveller outside that band cannot join. No other operator on this site publishes a single average age or an enforceable age limit, though Intrepid sells an "18 to 35s" themed range that is not a contractual restriction.

How Do Operator Insurance Requirements Differ For Europe Tours?

Three of the four operators with published terms require travel insurance, but the timing of proof and consequences differ. Expat Explore demands proof before day one, Intrepid and G Adventures ask on day one and will refuse boarding without it, while Contiki only recommends it. A Contiki traveller can board without a policy, but the operator will not cover any resulting losses.

This split is real and documented in the operators' own contracts, not in marketing copy. Expat Explore's terms state plainly that a traveller who cannot provide proof of adequate insurance before the start of the tour will not be permitted to embark. Intrepid's US Standard Booking Conditions require a policy number and the insurer's 24-hour emergency number on day one, and the same document recommends a minimum of US$200,000 per category of cover. G Adventures asks for proof of medical travel insurance on day one, with a minimum of US$200,000 for emergency evacuation and repatriation, and notes that cancellation insurance is recommended but not mandatory. Contiki's position is the outlier: it recommends insurance covering trip interruption, personal injury, medical expenses, evacuation and repatriation, but the choice of insurer is the traveller's and the operator will not be held liable for a failure to obtain it.

The legal backdrop is worth noting. Schengen law does not require travel insurance for visa-free visitors, and the EU's own ETIAS and EES pages contain no mention of it. However, the UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office warns that French and Italian border control officers may still ask to see proof of insurance, alongside proof of accommodation and a return ticket. So a traveller who books a Contiki tour and skips insurance is not breaking any operator rule, but they are taking a risk at the border and a larger risk if they fall ill during the trip.

The three tours above span three different operators and three different insurance positions. The Classic Europe run by Expat Explore requires insurance as a condition of booking. The Europe Escape, operated by a company whose name is not on the verified listing, does not publish its insurance stance. The small-group Balkan Extended from Budapest to Dubrovnik is an Intrepid trip, so the mandatory US$200,000 cover applies. Checking the operator's own listing before booking is the only way to know for certain.

Which Tour Company Gives You The Most Countries In Two Weeks?

The number of countries visited in two weeks is a blunt but useful pace measure. The widest itineraries cross ten countries, the narrowest two, and five of the 21 tours hit exactly eight. Expat Explore's Classic Europe and Europe Escape pack seven to eight countries into 12-14 days, while Intrepid's Balkan Extended covers six countries over 15 days at a slower rhythm.

A tour that hits ten countries in 14 days is spending less than a day and a half in each, with travel time eating into every morning. That pace suits a traveller who wants a sampler, not a deep dive. The Balkan Extended tour, by contrast, spends 15 days on six countries, which works out to two and a half days per country, with more time in each place. Neither approach is wrong, but the difference in daily rhythm is stark.

Tour Countries Visited Days Price Per Person (From) Rating
Classic Europe (Expat Explore) 7 14 $3,185 4.6 (309 reviews)
Europe Escape 8 12 $2,715 4.5 (878 reviews)
Small Group: Balkan Extended (Intrepid) 6 15 $4,957 4.9 (14 reviews)
Best of UK & Ireland (Trafalgar) 3 13 $3,235 4.7 (449 reviews)
Best of Scandinavia (Summer) 4 12 $2,325 4.9 (118 reviews)

The Classic Europe tour from Expat Explore is the most-reviewed Western Europe package on this site and the one that appears most often in comparison searches. It starts and ends in London, crossing France, Switzerland, Italy, the Netherlands, and two more countries, with a price that sits just below the median of $3,235 across all 21 tours. The Europe Escape covers eight countries in only 12 days, making it one of the fastest-paced options, and its 878 reviews make it the most-reviewed tour on the entire roster.

What Are The Real Differences In Group Size And Daily Pace?

Group size is the least transparent figure on any Europe tour listing. None of the 21 packages carries a verified maximum group size. The two "Small Group" tours do not state a numeric cap, and the one semi-private tour caps at ten travellers, a figure from a separate listing of the same itinerary. For every other tour, the group size is on the operator's listing and cannot be verified here.

What can be verified is the pace implied by the itinerary. A tour that covers eight countries in 12 days moves every one or two nights. A tour that covers six countries in 15 days stays longer in each place. The daily schedule, the number of included meals, and the ratio of guided time to free time all affect how a trip feels, and those details are on the live listing, not in any single summary.

One useful proxy is the number of departure months a tour offers. A tour that runs only in peak summer months is likely to be busier at every stop. A tour that runs in shoulder months like April, May, September, and October will encounter fewer crowds, even if the group itself is the same size. The departure calendar for the Balkan Extended tour, for example, shows departures from April through October, while some Western Europe tours run only from May to September.

For a traveller who wants a guaranteed small group, the semi-private Athens to Sarajevo tour is the only product on this site with a published cap. The operator states a maximum of ten travellers, and the price reflects that exclusivity at $3,784 per person. The two Intrepid small-group Balkans tours do not publish a cap but carry the "Small Group" label in their official titles, which signals a smaller coach and a different daily rhythm than the large-coach Western Europe circuits.

How Do Passport Validity Rules Vary Between Tour Companies?

Schengen law requires a passport valid for at least three months after departure from the Schengen area and issued within ten years. Contiki and Intrepid impose a stricter rule: six months after the trip return date. A traveller whose passport meets Schengen law but not the operator's rule can be denied boarding, even if the border guard would allow entry.

The Schengen requirement is set out in Article 6 of the Schengen Borders Code. The ten-year rule catches British passports renewed before October 2018, which may carry extra months from the previous passport and therefore have an issue date more than ten years old, making them invalid for Schengen entry even if the expiry date is years away. The UK FCDO spells this out plainly.

Contiki's booking conditions require a machine-readable passport valid for six months after the trip return date. Intrepid's US Standard Booking Conditions state the same six-month rule. Expat Explore does not set its own passport validity number and instead tells travellers to check the requirements themselves, which puts the duty squarely on the person booking. G Adventures does not state a passport rule in its booking FAQ. The safe advice for any traveller booking a multi-country Europe tour is to make sure the passport has at least six months of validity beyond the return date, because that covers both the Schengen minimum and the stricter operator rules. The rest of the planning pages sit on 14 Days Europe Tour Packages.

A passport resting on a map of Europe next to a boarding pass

The UK ETA is a separate requirement that catches any itinerary with a London leg. It costs £20, covers visits of up to six months, and is needed by every traveller including babies and children, even when only transiting UK border control. British and Irish passport holders do not need one. An ETA is not an ETIAS, and the two systems are entirely separate.

Which Tour Companies Offer The Best Value For A Two Week Europe Trip?

For a two-week Europe trip, the companies delivering the best value are those in the $150 to $230 per day range: ten of 21 tours fall here, with a median of $3,235, while the extremes are a $2,110 Madrid coach trip and a $5,265 Scandinavia fjords tour.

The daily rate varies from $151 at the cheapest end to $437 at the most expensive, with ten tours falling between $150 and $230. A tour at the low end of that range is typically a large-coach circuit with a fast pace and fewer included meals. A tour at the high end is usually a small-group trip with a slower rhythm, more included meals, and a higher staff-to-traveller ratio. The difference is not just the length: it is the whole design of the trip.

Tour Days Price (From) Included Meals Internal Transport
From Madrid: 14 Day Trip 14 $2,110 Not stated on the listing Included
14-day Taste of Europe Tour 14 $2,238 On the operator's listing Included
Best of Scandinavia (Summer) 12 $2,325 Some meals included Included
Europe Escape 12 $2,715 Some meals included Included
Classic Europe 14 $3,185 Some meals included Included
Best of UK & Ireland 13 $3,235 Some meals included Included
Small Group: Balkan Extended 15 $4,957 Some meals included Included
Scenic Scandinavia and its Fjords 14 $5,265 Some meals included Included

The two cheapest tours on the site, both priced under $2,250, are Western Europe coach circuits that cover seven to eight countries in 14 days. Neither carries a rating from more than 17 reviews, and one has no rating at all. The most-reviewed cheap option, Europe Escape at $2,715, carries a 4.5 from 878 reviews, making it the most-reviewed tour on the site and a strong value pick for a traveller who wants a fast-paced sampler at a mid-range price.

The Classic Europe tour at $3,185 per person sits just below the median price and is operated by Expat Explore, the company that runs the most tours on this site. It is the most-reviewed Western Europe package and the one that appears in the broadest range of comparison searches. A traveller who wants the Expat Explore insurance requirement, a seven-country itinerary, and a price near the middle of the market will find it a natural benchmark.

How Many Tours Does Each Operator Run On This Site?

Expat Explore runs seven of the 21 tours, more than any other operator. Trafalgar and Balkan and more each run two, and two products carry no operator name. The remaining nine tours are spread across eight other companies. This concentration means a Western Europe coach circuit is most likely to be an Expat Explore tour, while the Balkans and Britain categories are more fragmented.

The operator split is not just a trivia point. It affects the consistency of the booking terms. A traveller who books two Expat Explore tours gets the same insurance requirement, the same cancellation framework, and the same duty to check passport rules themselves. A traveller who books one Expat Explore tour and one Trafalgar tour is dealing with two different sets of terms, and the Trafalgar terms are not published in any source this site has verified.

Operator Tours On This Site Example Tour Price Range
Expat Explore 7 Classic Europe $2,238-$3,655
Trafalgar 2 Best of UK & Ireland, European Whirl $3,235-$3,804
Balkan and more 2 Balkan Experience, Balkan Explorer $2,517-$2,665
Intrepid 2 Small Group: Balkan Extended, Small Group: Balkan Essentials $4,957-$5,242
Contiki 1 European Whirl (End Paris) $3,804
G Adventures 1 Best of Central Europe $4,025
Insight Vacations 1 Country Roads of Bavaria, Switzerland & Austria $5,085
Globus 1 Celtic Highlights $5,049
Cosmos 1 Best of Scandinavia (Summer) $2,325
Choose Balkans 1 Athens to Sarajevo Semi-Private $3,784
No operator name 2 Europe Escape, Taste of Europe $2,238-$2,715
Chart showing the number of tours per operator on the 14 Days Europe Tour Packages site
Expat Explore runs 7 of 21 tours, more than any other operator; Trafalgar, Balkan and more, and Intrepid run 2 each; the remaining 8 operators run 1 each; 2 tours carry no operator name.

The two tours with no operator name are worth flagging. The Europe Escape, the most-reviewed tour on the site at 878 reviews, does not name the company that runs it in any verified listing data. The 14-day Taste of Europe tour, priced at $2,238, also carries no operator attribution. A traveller who wants to read the operator's own booking conditions before booking will not find them for these two products, which is a genuine gap.

What About Tour Companies For Britain And Ireland?

Two tours cover Britain and Ireland exclusively: Trafalgar's Best of UK & Ireland and Globus's Celtic Highlights. Both are 13-day circuits, but Trafalgar's starts and ends in London while Globus's runs from Glasgow. The price gap is substantial: $3,235 versus $5,049. Trafalgar's tour has 449 reviews at 4.7, while Celtic Highlights holds a perfect 5.0 from 384 reviews, one of the highest ratings on the roster.

Neither Trafalgar nor Globus publishes an insurance requirement, an age band, or a passport validity number in any source this site has verified. A traveller booking either tour is relying on the operator's own booking conditions, which are not publicly available in a form that can be quoted here. The Trafalgar tour includes a London round-trip, which means the UK ETA applies. The Globus tour starts in Glasgow, so a traveller flying into a London airport and transiting UK border control would also need an ETA.

The Best of UK & Ireland tour is the only Britain and Ireland package on this site that sits near the median price. At $249 per day, it costs slightly more per day than the Classic Europe tour but covers only three countries, with more time in each. A traveller who wants a slower pace in a smaller geographic area will find it a better fit than a seven-country Western Europe sprint.

Which Tour Companies Run The Smallest Groups?

Only one tour publishes a maximum group size: the semi-private Athens to Sarajevo tour caps at ten travellers. The two Intrepid Balkans tours carry the "Small Group" label but no numeric cap. For every other tour, the group size is on the operator's listing and cannot be verified here. The verifiable distinction is format: 20 of the 21 tours are joined group departures, while the semi-private tour is a dedicated departure with a tour leader and car.

The semi-private format changes the daily rhythm entirely. There is no coach boarding queue, no waiting for 40 people to use the restroom, and no fixed meal stops. The itinerary is the same route as a group tour, but the pace is set by the small group, not by a schedule designed for a large coach. The price reflects that: $3,784 per person for 14 days, which is above the median but below the small-group Intrepid tours at $4,957 and $5,242.

A small minibus parked on a mountain road with a few travelers stretching outside

For a traveller who wants a guaranteed small group, the semi-private tour is the only product on this site with a published cap. For a traveller who trusts the "Small Group" label without a number, the two Intrepid Balkans tours are the next best option. For everyone else, the group size is a question to ask the operator before booking, because no verified figure exists.

How Do Departure Months Affect Which Tour Company You Choose?

February is the only month with zero departures across all 21 tours. The peak departure months are May and September, each with 14 tours, followed by April (13) and October (10). Summer months June, July, and August see 12, 6, and 3 tours respectively, so the high season for departures is actually spring and autumn. The widest operator choice is in May or September.

The departure calendar is a product of operator scheduling, not climate data. This site does not publish temperature or rainfall figures for any city, so the advice on timing is based solely on when tours actually run. A tour that departs only in June, July, and August will be operating during the busiest and most expensive travel weeks in Europe. A tour that runs from April through October gives the traveller the option to pick a shoulder month with fewer crowds and lower airfares, though the land price itself usually stays the same across the season.

The operator with the broadest departure calendar is Expat Explore, whose seven tours run across multiple months from March to December, with the Christmas and New Year departure of Classic Europe being the only December option on the entire site. The Balkans operators, Balkan and more and Choose Balkans, tend to run from April to October, with no winter departures. The Scandinavia tours run only in the summer months, which is a function of the fjord routes being inaccessible in winter.

Month Number Of Tours Departing
January 1
February 0
March 6
April 13
May 14
June 12
July 6
August 3
September 14
October 10
November 2
December 3

The single January departure is a tour that is not in the Western Europe classics group, and the two November departures are also outside the main season. A traveller who wants to travel in winter has almost no choice on this site, which is a real constraint to know before starting a search.

Common Questions About Choosing A Europe Tour Company

Which Europe Tour Company Is The Best Overall?

No single operator is the best for every traveller. Expat Explore runs the most tours on this site and suits budget-conscious travellers who want a packed itinerary with mandatory insurance. Intrepid and G Adventures run smaller groups with stricter insurance and passport rules. Contiki is the only operator with a contractual 18-35 age band and does not require insurance. The best company is the one whose contract terms, age policy, and daily pace match your travel style. Check the operator's own booking conditions before you commit.

Do All Europe Tour Companies Require Travel Insurance?

No. Expat Explore, Intrepid, and G Adventures require it, with a minimum of US$200,000 in emergency evacuation cover for the latter two. Contiki only recommends insurance and does not require it. Other operators on this site do not publish their insurance stance in any verified source. Schengen law does not require insurance for visa-free visitors, but French and Italian border control may still ask to see proof.

What Is The Average Age On A Europe Group Tour?

Only Contiki publishes a contractual age band: 18 to 35. Intrepid offers an "18 to 35s" themed range but does not enforce it contractually. No other operator on this site publishes an average age or an age limit. The age of fellow travellers is a question to ask the operator directly, because no verified figure exists for Trafalgar, Globus, Expat Explore, or any other company.

Which Tour Company Covers The Most Countries In Two Weeks?

The widest itineraries on this site cover ten countries in 14 days, while the narrowest cover two. The Europe Escape covers eight countries in 12 days, making it one of the fastest-paced tours. The Classic Europe tour covers seven countries in 14 days at a more moderate pace. The Balkan Extended tour covers six countries in 15 days, with more time in each place.

How Do I Know If A Tour Company Is Reliable?

Look at the review count and rating on the live listing, not just the star score. A 5.0 from 17 reviews is a different signal than a 4.5 from 878 reviews. Check the operator's own booking conditions for insurance, cancellation, and passport rules. The four operators with published terms on this site are Expat Explore, Intrepid, G Adventures, and Contiki. For other operators, ask for the terms before you book.

What Is The Cheapest Europe Tour Company?

The cheapest land package on this site is the Madrid departure coach trip at $2,110 per person for 14 days, but the operator is not named in the verified listing. Among named operators, Expat Explore's 14-day Taste of Europe tour at $2,238 is the cheapest, followed by the Best of Scandinavia at $2,325. The median price across all tours is $3,235.

For more on how to weigh price against inclusions, read our Europe tour package cost breakdown. If you are still deciding between a coach tour and a rail trip, the rail pass versus coach tour comparison lays out the trade-offs. And if you want to understand the booking terms in detail, the deposits, cancellation, and booking windows guide covers what happens after you click book.

Ready To Compare Real Tours?

Browse the live listings for the tours mentioned in this guide. Each one links directly to the operator's own page where you can check dates, availability, and the latest price.

Check Price & Availability →

from $3,185 · ★ 4.6 (309 reviews) · often sells out Check Availability →